Who needs a visa for Thailand?

All Passengers visiting the kingdom of Thailand must obtain a visa from the Thailand diplomatic embassy unless they are from a visa-exempt nation whose nationals are eligible to travel to Thailand without a visa.

Thailand offers visa-free travel to citizens of sixty-four nations and territories. The Thai government maintains bilateral visa waiver arrangements with some of these nations. Citizen’s from18 nations can obtain a visa on arrival.

Citizens of countries that do not have a visa exemption agreement with Thailand will need a visa to travel to Thailand.

Visa exemption for normal passports

90 days (5 nations)

The governments of the following countries have bilateral visa waiver agreements with Thailand. Normal passport holders from these countries are allowed to travel to Thailand without a visa for 90 days.

  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • South Korea
  • Peru

30-day waiver (6 nations)

Holders of normal passports issued by these countries that have bilateral visa waiver agreements with Thailand are allowed to stay for up to 30 days.

  • Hong Kong
  • Laos
  • Macau
  • Mongolia
  • Russia
  • Vietnam

30-day exemption (51 nations)

Normal passport holders from the following countries are granted visa-free travel to Thailand for up to 30 days. The exemption is granted at most twice in a calendar year when entering by land or via a maritime border, but there is no limitation when entering by air.

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Czech republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • San Marino

Visa-free citizens from the countries listed above can apply to extend their trip by an additional thirty days since the 29th of August, 2014.

Visa on arrival for normal passports

Citizens of the following nations can obtain a visa on arrival which permits them to stay up to fifteen days at the main points of entry, whether by land or air. The visa on arrival cannot be extended.

In November 2018, the spokesperson for the Thailand government Puttipong Punnakanta announced that as of December 1, 2018, travelers from these 18 nations will be exempt from their arrival visa for sixty days, to strengthen tourism. This was then extended to October 31, 2019, and was extended to April 30, 2020.

  • Bhutan
  • Bulgaria
  • China
  • Cyprus
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Kazakhstan
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Nauru
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Romania
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Taiwan
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu

eVisa upon arrival

Thailand began issuing tourist visas from the 21st of November, 2018, valid for fifteen days.

The electronic visa application also became available from February 2019 in certain Thai consulates abroad.

Types of visas

Types of general visas

Courtesy: The Royal Thai Embassy upon official request, may grant visa s to diplomats, UN officials and others wishing to enter Thailand on official missions or for other purposes.

Permanent resident: To benefit from this visa, you must have stayed in Thailand for 3 consecutive years with one-year visa extensions. If you have been married to a Thai for 5 years, you must earn 30,000 baht/month.

Tourist: If an applicant wants to live in Thailand for more than thirty days, they may obtain this tourist visa at a Royal Thai consulate before arriving in Thailand. The tourist visa allows a stay of sixty days.

Transit: This visa is granted to applicants who want to enter Thailand for the following purposes: to travel in transit via Thailand to go to the country of destination or to return to their own country.

Types of visa for non-immigrants

Type B: to do business; job; attend business conferences; teaching at school; attend scuba diving, and massage classes

Type D: diplomatic visa

ED type: study; come on a study or observation trip; participate in projects or seminars; attend a conference or training course; to study as a foreign Buddhist monk