Countries exempted from a visa

The Visa exemption rule permits visitors from 64 countries to travel to Thailand without a visa. They are permitted to stay a maximum of thirty days if they enter Thailand via an international airport or if they pass through a border checkpoint from neighboring countries.

Under the new regulations of the Visa exemption rule and the bilateral agreement enforced on December 31, 2016, passport bearers are entitled to enter Thailand if they meet the following requirement:

The visit is strictly for tourist purposes.

They must have a confirmed return ticket to show that they are leaving Thailand within 30 days of entry, open tickets are not valid. Travel tickets outside of the Kingdom of Thailand by train, bus, etc. to Cambodia, Myanmar, Laos, etc. may be accepted as evidence of exit from Thailand.

You may be asked to show your plane ticket when entering Thailand. If you do not have an airline ticket to show that you will leave Thailand within 30 days of your entry, the entry will most likely be refused.

It is important to provide evidence that you have financial resources of at least 10,000 THB per person during your stay in Thailand.

Fees may be charged on people traveling to Thailand under the Visa exemption rule, especially when entering via a land border into southern Thailand.

Normal passport bearers with visa exemption are allowed visa-free travel to Thailand for up to thirty days. The exemption is issued at most twice in a calendar year when entering by land or via a maritime border, but there is no limitation when entering by air.

For Malaysians entering by land border, there is no limit to the issuance of the 30-day visa waiver stamp. Korea, Brazil, Peru, Argentina, and Chile will have 90 days both at the airport and at the land border.

164 countries allowed entering Thailand under the visa waiver rule:

  • Andorra

  • Argentina (90 days)

  • Australia

  • Austria

  • Bahrain

  • Belgium

  • Brazil (30 days and 90 days)

  • Brunei

  • Cambodia (14 days only)

  • Canada

  • Chile (90 days)

  • Czech republic

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Hong Kong

  • Hungary

  • Iceland

  • Indonesia

  • Ireland

  • Israel

  • Italy

  • Japan

  • Korea (30 days and 90 days)

  • Kuwait

  • Laos

  • Latvia

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Macau

  • Malaysia

  • Maldives

  • Mauritius

  • Myanmar (14 days only)

  • Monaco

  • Mongolia

  • Netherlands

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Oman

  • Peru (30 days and 90 days)

  • Philippines

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • Qatar

  • Russia

  • San Marino

  • Singapore

  • Slovak Republic

  • Slovenia

  • South Africa

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

  • Turkey

  • Ukraine

  • United Arab Emirates

  • UK

  • United States

  • Vietnam

Tourist visa waiver (unilateral)

According to the ministerial announcements of the interior, passport holders from Hong Kong SAR and other 40 countries do not need a visa to enter Thailand for tourism purposes, if their stay in the Kingdom of Thailand not more than 30 days.

The applicant must have a means livelihood of 10,000 baht per person and 20,000 baht per family accordingly.

The list of 40 countries and a region is as follows:

1. Australia: Commonwealth of Australia

2. Austria: Republic of Austria

3. Belgium: Kingdom of Belgium

4. Brazil: Federative Republic of Brazil

5. Bahrain: State of Bahrain

6. Brunei Darussalam: Negara Brunei Darussalam

7. Canada

8. Denmark: Kingdom of Denmark

9. Finland: Republic of Finland

10. France: French Republic

11. Germany: Federal Republic of Germany

12. Greece: Hellenic Republic

13. Hong Kong: Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

14. Iceland: Republic of Iceland

15. Indonesia: Republic of Indonesia

16. Ireland: Republic of Ireland

17. Israel: State of Israel

18. Italy: Republic of Italy

19. Japan

20. Korea: Republic of Korea

21. Kuwait: State of Kuwait

22. Luxembourg: Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

23. Malaysia

24. Netherlands: Kingdom of the Netherlands

25. New Zealand

26. Norway: Kingdom of Norway

27. Oman: Sultanate of Oman

28. Peru: Republic of Peru

29. Philippines: Republic of the Philippines

30. Portugal: Republic of Portugal

31. Qatar: State of Qatar

32. Singapore: Republic of Singapore

33. Spain: Kingdom of Spain

34. South Africa: Republic of South Africa

35. Sweden: Kingdom of Sweden

36. Switzerland: Swiss Confederation

37. Turkey: Republic of Turkey

38. United Arab Emirates

39. United Kingdom: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

40. United States of America

41. Vietnam: Socialist Republic of Vietnam